Events

International Seminar: Defend the Defenders

In this seminar, criminologist David R. Goyes and journalist Nina Lakhani meet to discuss Lakhani’s book ‘Who killed Berta Cáceres’, and so shed light on the work of and threats against environmental activists through the life of Berta Cáceres. Berta, in the words of Lakhani, ‘would be mostly remembered as an environmentalist who defended rivers [but] she was much more than that.’ Berta’s murder in 2016 triggered international condemnation and inspired environmental activists throughout the world.

Goyes and Lakhani will be joined by experts from across the world. This seminar seeks to increase the awareness of the lack of human rights of environmental defenders, and to build networks of solidarity around them.

This seminar is being organised in co-operation with universities and participants in several countries with diverse time zones:

  • London: 18.00-19.00
       Brisbane: 4.00-5.00 (19.06.) am
    •    Oslo: 20.00-21.00.
    •    Tegucigalpa: 12.00-13.00
    •    Bogotá: 13.00-14.00
    •    Sao Paulo: 15.00-16.00

Zoom link to attend is:  (GTM) Zoom – https://uio.zoom.us/j/67108140860

This event has been co-organised by Department of Criminology and Sociology of LawThe National University of Colombia, Faculty of Law and Political Sciences Verso BooksQueensland University of Technology Centre for Justice and Antonio Nariño University

 

 

Comments are closed.