SAGE Higher Degree Research Student Publication Prize now open to Q1 + Q2 journals

The SAGE Higher Degree Research Student Publication Prize has been extended to include Q1 and Q2 Scimago ranked journals. Higher Degree Research (HDR) students who are the lead author on a paper that has been published in a peer reviewed journal with a Q1 or Q2 ranking in Scimago, can enter the SAGE Higher Degree Research Student Publication Prize.

Three prizes are up for grabs: first prize $1500; second $900 and; third prize $500. A panel of five will evaluate the papers entered based on originality and readability (writing style and clarity).Don’t miss this opportunity to be recognised for your research and writing skills.

To enter you must:

  1. Be a current QUT Higher Degree Research (HDR) Student (QUT MOPP).
  2. Be the lead author and have played a significant role in data collection, data analysis, and preparation of a manuscript accepted for publication in a refereed (peer-reviewed) journal, allocated a Quartile 1 (Q1) or Quartile 2 (Q2) ranking in Scimago in any subject area, between 1st January 2017 and 31st August 2017; and
  3. Email to advise of manuscript acceptance and publication details by 14th September 2017.

You’ve already done the hard work of writing and publishing the paper, enter now with the chance to further highlight your research!

For the full terms and conditions and to apply, click here. If you’d like more information, contact


  1. Avatar
    shengli zhang Reply

    If the paper has been submitted but not accepted yet, will that also eligible for application of the SAGE award? In that case, how to make sure the confidential of the unpublished manuscript?

    • Avatar
      Maddy Reply

      Hi Shengli,

      I have forwarded your question to the Library Research Team, who should be able to get back to you shortly 🙂



    • Avatar

      Hi Shengli. The paper needs to have been accepted for publication the be eligible. Regards,

  2. Avatar

    Hi there,

    I was wondering when will be the winners announced?


Write A Comment