2019 ACS Distinguished Book Award

The Asian Criminological Society (ACS) is accepting nominations for the 2019 ACS Distinguished Book Award until February 15, 2019. Please see details below. We look forward to receiving many nominations.
Setsuo Miyazawa
ACS President 2019-2021

1. The 2019 ACS Distinguished Book Award Committee

Peter Grabosky, Committee Chair
PO Box 9054
Deakin, ACT 2600
Email: Peter.Grabosky@anu.edu.au

Nicole Wai Ting Cheung
Department of Sociology
The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Shatin, N.T.
Email: nwtcheung@cuhk.edu.hk

Hua-Fu Hsu
Department of Criminology
National Chung Cheng University
168 University Road
Chia-Yi County
Email: crmhfh@ccu.edu.tw

Mai Sato
School of Regulation and Global Governance
HC Coombs Extension (Building #8)
College of Asia and the Pacific
Australian National University
Canberra, ACT 2601
Email: mai.sato@anu.edu.au

Ramasubbu Thilagaraj
1981, 3rd Street
Vasantha Colony
Anna Nagar West
Chennai 600 040
Tamil Nadu
Email: rthilagaraj@gmail.com

Jing Zhang
2403# – 213
East Side of WangJing HuaYuan
Chaoyang District
China 100102
Email: rwrlzj@163.com

2. Eligibility
( 1) Books on crime and criminal justice in Asia published in English in the calendar year of 2018 are eligible.
( 2) In addition to single-authored books, co-authored books are eligible, but collected works are not.

3. Nominations
(1) Nominations, including self-nominations, must be submitted to Peter Grabosky, the committee chair.
(2) Nominations will be accepted until 15 February 2019.
(3) Nominators are required to ask the publisher or the author of the nominated book to send a review copy to every committee member before 15 February 2019.

4. Announcement of the Award and Award Ceremony
(1) Up to two Awards and up to two Honorary Mentions will be announced by the end of April 2019.
(2) An award ceremony will be held during the 2019 annual meeting of the ACS on June 23-26, 2019, in Cebu, the Philippines. We regret that we are unable to provide any travel grant.

Associate Professor Molly Dragiewicz wins domestic violence prevention award

Associate Professor Molly Dragiewicz won a 2018 Domestic Violence Prevention Leadership Award from the Domestic Violence Prevention Centre Gold Coast for Furthering the Work – adding new information and knowledge. Read more

QUT Justice Alumnus wins IAWP Officer of the Year Award


Acting Assistant Commissioner Debbie Platz has been globally recognised after she was presented with the International Association of Women Police (IAWP) Officer of the Year Award at a luncheon in Barcelona, Spain on Sunday. Debbie is a QUT Justice Alumnus who completed a Graduate  Certificate in Justice and Legal Studies in 1998.

Read more

Recently Published: ‘2015 Enloe Award’ Journal Article by Dr Helen Berents


Dr Helen Berents from the School of Justice, Faculty of Law, has recently published an article in the International Feminist Journal of Politics.

The article “Hashtagging girlhood: #IAmMalala, #BringBackOurGirls and gendering representations of global politics” won the 2015 Enloe Award, which is awarded annually to an emergent scholar in recognition of the exceptional quality of work presented in their manuscript.  Read more