ACE Bootcamp

The 2016 BOOTCAMP was held  Monday 19, Tuesday 20, Wednesday 21 December 2016 at Tangalooma Island Resort in close proximity of Brisbane.

The dates for the 2017 Bootcamp are yet to be advised.

In addition to our international guests and our internal QUT participants, a small number of researchers are welcomed by ‘invitation only’ from other Australian and International Universities.

An expression of interest will be called for in September.  Please note that acceptance to the ACE Bootcamp is limited and is by invitation only.  Submitting an Expression of Interest does not secure your immediate participation. For further clarification please contact Karen Taylor

As a guide: 

  • In 2016 Full (draft) papers were due on or before 30 November.  The period of reviewing was between the 2 – 12 December.  All participants were required to provide written reviews prior to the review deadline of 12 December.
  • The cost per participant in 2016 was AUD 1500 (GST inclusive) This price is subject to change.  The fee covers: travel to and from the conference venue from Brisbane, participation in all scheduled workshop and social activities, *share accommodation and meals. *Your own room accommodation can be arranged with an additional fee.

So … what can you expect at bootcamp

As a means of establishing and sustaining an international top position in entrepreneurship research, the Australian Centre for Entrepreneurship Research (ACE)  hosts the “ACE Paper Development Bootcamp” in December of each year.  The Bootcamp is aimed at providing an opportunity for researchers to focus on the crafting and development of existing paper drafts, conference papers, previously rejected manuscripts and other file drawer ‘orphans’. Bootcamp participants include staff on all levels, from PhD students and early career researchers to full professors. With a number of leading conferences having paper deadlines in early in the year, including Academy of Management, this is an ideal time to focus on the development of your papers.

‘Celebrity visitors’ who have in the past chaired sessions and offered mentoring throughout the program are: 2005 Johan Wiklund.   2006 Benson Honig, Keith Hmieleski.   2007 Mike Peng   2008 Jill Kickul, Mark Griffiths, Justin Tan.   2009 Ted Baker, John Watson.   2010 Dean Shepherd, Gerry George, Harry Sapienza.   2011 Dean Shepherd, Sara Carter, Johan Wiklund.   2012 Dean Shepherd, Jennifer Jennings, Devereaux ‘Dev’ Jennings.   2013 Dean Shepherd, Andreas Schwab, Frederic Delmar.   2014 Dean Shepherd.  2015 Wouter Stam, Michael Friese, Dean Shepherd and 2016 Michael Gielnik and Dean Shepherd..

Specifically, attendees will get the chance to: 1. Progress a specific paper in a very material way and take it to the “next level”. 2. Get written reviews from at least 3 participants and one senior academic.  3. Get a 30-40 min. round table discussion of how to best advance the paper. 4. Learn from others what it takes to make a good paper.

Participants who attended the 2016 bootcamp can log in to the password protected page HERE.  To receive your password please contact Karen Taylor

1 response

Post a comment
  1. Avatar
    Karen home

    Test test

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *